Jan. 4 – Day 4

As promised, I have returned to update my progress. Since Saturday, I have lost 5.6 pounds, but I have not measured myself again. I plan on only doing measurements once a week, either on Saturday or on Sunday, so that it is stays consistent. I am on day 2 of the PCRM 21-day Vegan Kickstart, and I feel great. I have been exclusively following the meal plan for dinner, but breakfast and lunches are a bit different. I didn’t get to make lunch yesterday, so I just had a PB & J on seeded whole-grain, whole-wheat bread with no added oils, preservatives, or cholesterol fresh from Publix bakery. Yum! What’s great about the dinner salad recipes on the Kickstart is that each of them makes multiple servings, therefore today, I just had leftovers from last night’s salad with some baked lentil chips. When it comes to breakfast, both M and I are still finishing the vegan Pumpkin Crumb Cake with Pepita Streusel (from VCON) from NYE. It is still very moist and delicious, but it is so rich that I am ready for it to be gone. Once the cake is gone, I plan to eat original Cheerios with Vanilla Hemp Milk until that is gone and then Vanilla Coconut Milk until that is gone, so I get a great source of Omegas with the cholesterol lowering effects of the Cheerios. I am still playing around with milk substitutes because I like cereal with milk, but I can’t do soy so I have been experimenting with mixed results so far. I will write more on that as I explore my options.

One of the biggest obstacles for me has been switching into the mindset that carbs are NOT the enemy. For the past seven years or so, since we tried the South Beach Diet the first time, I have had this notion in my mind that I need to keep carbs below a certain percentage of my daily calories. One thing is that with my BodyMedia Fit, I need to track my calories somehow so that I can ensure I am meeting my calorie deficits, so I have been using Livestrong’s The Daily Plate again to track everything I have eaten since Saturday. It’s great seeing the feedback from BMF as to how many calories I burn throughout the day, but it’s also really enlightening to see the swap in the percentages of the macronutrients with my change in diet. Under my previous diet, my ratio was 45% carbohydrates, 30% protein, and 25% fat. With my new diet the ratio is supposed to be 75% carbohydrates, 15% fat, and 10% protein, but I have been averaging 65% carbohydrates, 25% fat, and 10% protein. This has been a real switch for my brain, but I have a lot of energy, which is great because I started working out today.

I did the first Zumba beginner workout for the PS3 Move today. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was fun and a good workout. It really felt like I was working out my whole body throughout the whole routine, so I’m looking forward to Thursday’s workout. I plan on being a little sore tomorrow, but not too much. However, tomorrow also starts my journey back on the treadmill, which I really haven’t missed a bit but I’ll be doing an hour anyway. I’m going to try to convince the hubby to do a walk around the neighborhood tomorrow night too, but we’ll see how late he gets home. I’m trying to get this healthy lifestyle to stick this time. I want this house to be a healthy house, and maybe by the time the kids come along, we won’t have to worry about any major health issues.

Thanks for checking me out. New stats and pictures will be posted this weekend, so stay tuned. 🙂

2 responses to “Jan. 4 – Day 4

  1. Karen -> Mom-in-Law

    Patti, I’m going to be reading your blog and cheering you on! You are an inspiration to me and many others!

Leave a Reply

