The Semester Has Begun

Hello again. Sorry for not posting results this weekend, but I wasn’t online very much at all. I was feeling under the weather on Saturday, and then Sunday, my mom and I got our hair done and hung out for the rest of the day. It was the first time in a long time that we just hung out and talked, and it was very nice. (As for my hair, I am now VERY blond. I LOVE it.) In addition, I didn’t do much cooking this weekend either, so there wasn’t much to post. However, I did manage to eat some delicious food.

Friday, I made a very yummy and simple quinoa pasta shells and marinara sauce with Great Northern beans, onions, and broccoli. The stupid shells took much longer than the directions indicated, so unfortunately the broccoli was overcooked but still quite tasty. Saturday, we ate lunch out at our local Mexican place that has an entire vegetarian section on their menu. Yummy veggie chimichanga topped with house-made guacamole with white rice and refried beans with no animal products, delicioso! We ate so late that neither of us wanted dinner. Sunday, I just ate Cheerios with hemp milk but added some freeze-dried banana chips and freeze-dried strawberry slices for breakfast. It was so easy, but again so tasty. Mom and I went out to Ruby Tuesday for lunch. I got the guacamole dip appetizer, which consists of scratch-made guacamole, salsa, pico de gallo, and fresh tortilla chips, with the unlimited salad bar. Salad bars are a vegan’s best friend with all the fresh veg and fruit and different options for protein and dressings. Ruby Tuesday has recently revamped their salad bar, and they added some great options, such as black bean and corn relish. It’s very easy to fill your plate with healthy vegetables, beans, seeds, and fruit, while avoiding all the mayo based pasta and potato salads. I was completely stuffed. However, because we ate so late, again I didn’t cook dinner. Then yesterday, the Spring semester began.

My first class of the day on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday is now at 9:30am in Orlando, and it’s about an hour drive to get to campus for me. In addition, parking on campus is crazy, so I try to leave at least an hour and a half before my class. The point of this explanation is that now breakfast has to be quick to eat, quick to make, and filling enough to last until I get home from Orlando for lunch. On Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday won’t be so bad since I will be home by 12:30pm at the latest. But, Mondays will also include my aerobics class, which will go for about an hour and a half, so I need to find a great vegan protein powder to mix in my coconut water for afterwards. I tried Harmonized Vegan Protein last week, and it was okay, but there has to be something better out there. So again, off to the message boards and blogs I go. For options, I made the Breakfast Rice Pudding from the 21-day Vegan Kickstart, and it is pretty tasty but the feeling of satiety did not last very long. I think I need to find something richer in whole grains with a decent amount of protein and that includes fruit, so off to the message boards and cookbooks I go. I will find something to fill me up without being too heavy.

I wanted to mention that my vegan lifestyle is going much better than even my vegetarian experiment did a few years ago. I feel better educated, and I have so many more resources than I did previously. I feel so very lucky to be embarking on this journey at this time when the mainstream culture is recognizing the benefits of vegetarian and vegan eating. Quite a few Hollywood stars are moving towards vegan, vegetarian, and pescatarian (all veg except fish) lifestyles, which is bringing so much national attention to both the ethical concerns and health benefits eating differently than the Standard American Diet (SAD).

Now onto my changes this week, I have decided to only do physical measurements and pictures once a month, so any changes are more noticeable. I will however be updating my weight every week. Because I had a horrible night’s sleep Sunday night, I forgot to weigh myself yesterday, so I am going with today’s weight measurement for this week. I am proud to say that I have lost some weight. Additionally, I think that I am finally over most of the “detox” symptoms from switching from SAD to vegan, but I am still a little drained so working out has been a little hard. I am hoping to have more energy as the week goes on to want to work out more, but I will at least continue my walking on the treadmill on Wednesday and Friday. I am working on it, so hopefully it will come easier as I go along.

Beginning Current Difference
Chest 47.5
Waist 39
Hips 51
Wrist 6.75
Forearm 12.5
BMI 43.05 41.92 -1.13
Weight 235.4 229.2 -6.2
Leave a Reply

